Washington D.C. – June 13, 2019 - DNC Announces Candidates Participating in First Democratic Presidential Primary Debate

Today, the DNC announced that twenty candidates have been invited to participate in the first Democratic presidential primary debate.  Each candidate was invited based on the qualification criteria agreed to by the DNC and NBC News, announced publicly in February.

The first debate will take place over two back-to-back nights at 9 p.m. ET on June 26 and 27, 2019, in Miami, Florida. The debate will be broadcast in prime time on NBC, MSNBC, and Telemundo, and will be streamed online for free on a variety of digital and social platforms.

The first debate on Wednesday, June 26, in Miami

Sen. Cory Booker*
Sec. Julian Castro*
Mayor Bill de Blasio
​Rep. John Delaney
Rep. Tulsi Gabbard*
Gov. Jay Inslee*
Sen. Amy Klobuchar*
Rep. Beto O’Rourke*
Rep. Tim Ryan
Sen. Elizabeth Warren*

The second debate on Thursday, June 27
Sen. Michael Bennet
Vice President Joe Biden*
Mayor Pete Buttigieg*
Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand*
Sen. Kamala Harris*
Gov. John Hickenlooper
Sen. Bernie Sanders*
Rep. Eric Swalwell
Ms. Marianne Williamson*
Mr. Andrew Yang*

* Candidates marked by an asterisk qualified through both polling and grassroots fundraising thresholds.  The remaining candidates qualified through polling only.